Stat/Transfer always writes a log that is displayed in the Log dialog box. You can view it and, if you would like, manually save it to disk. However, the options described here control a different feature that will automatically write a log file to disk every time you do a data transfer.
Always write a log file
To turn on this feature, check the option Always write a log file.
Add Time and Date to log messages
If this is checked, the time and date will be written to each line of your log.
Clear Log before opening input file
By default, the messages that are written to the Log dialog box are cleared when a new file is opened. You can override this behavior and save all messages by unchecking this box. Note that if you are concerned with permanently documenting your transfer activities, you should use the Automatic Transfer Logging option that will automatically write a log to disk for each transfer.
By default the log file will have the same path and name as the output file, but will have the extension .stlog. You can change this behavior by entering a different value in the Filename field. You can use the following macros:
%ipath% The path, including the drive (on Windows), of the input data file
%iname% The name, without the extension, of the input data file
%opath% The path, including the drive (on Windows), of the output data file
%oname% The name, without the extension, of the output data file
If log file exists
This option controls what happens if the log file exists in the location that you have specified. The possible values are:
Prompt before overwriting
Overwrite without asking
Append to existing log
The last option, "Append to existing log", is the default.
Collect anonymous usage statistics to help improve Stat/Transfer
This option controls whether anonymous usage statistics will be sent to our server. If this option is checked, the source and destination file types, number of records, number of variables and the time, are written into a file. Then, periodically, when update checks are run, these data are uploaded together with a unique code that cannot be used to identify you or your machine.